Ifilm App
فارسی عربي
Tuesday May 8, 2018 18:34316

Cannes 2018 announces Un Certain Regard jury members

The 2018 edition of the Cannes Film Festival has finalized the make-up of its Un Certain Regard jury.

In a bit of last-minute housekeeping, the event which kicks off on May 8, announces the list of Un Certain Regard jury members.

Benicio Del Toro was previously set as president of the jury panel.

Palestinian director and writer Annemarie Jacir, Russian director Kantemir Balagov, French actress Virginie Ledoyen, and Telluride Film Festival executive director Julie Huntsinger joined Del Toro.

Un Certain Regard is considered as the alternate competition of the Official Selection and will screen 18 films this year. Six of those are from first-timers who will vie for the Camera d’Or.

Ukrainian filmmaker Sergei Loznitsa’s Donbass will open the section on May 9. Prizewinners will be revealed on May 18, during the Un Certain Regard closing ceremony.

The Cannes International Festival is one of the world’s most publicized events which aims at drawing attention to and raise the profile of films in order to contribute towards the development of cinema, according to the festival’s website.

The 71st annual edition of the event starts today and will come to conclusion on May 19, 2018, in Cannes, France.