Ifilm App Android
فارسی عربي

Majid Majidi's 'The Sun' wins Best Film at Fajr Film Festival

Fajr Film Festival announces the winners in each category during the closing ceremony of its 38th edition.

Iran’s Fajr Film Festival has announced the winners in each category during the closing ceremony of its 38th edition, with Majid Majidi's 'The Sun' winning the Best Film.

During the ceremony on Tuesday, Majid Majidi's 'The Sun' also bagged the Crystal Simorgh for Best Screenplay.

The winners are as follows:

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Nazanin Ahmadi for ‘The Rain Falls Where it Will’

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Peyman Maadi for ‘Walnut Tree’

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Tannaz Tababtaee for 'Butterfly Stroke'

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Amir Aqaee for 'Butterfly Stroke'

Best Screenplay: Nima Javidi and Majid Majidi for ‘The Sun’

Best Director: Mohammad-Hossein Mahdavian for ‘Walnut Tree’

Best Editing: Esmaeel Alizadeh for 'Butterfly Stroke'

Best Cinematography: Morteza Najafi for ‘Toman’

Best Short Film: ‘Dabur’ by Saeed Nejati

Best Film in New Look section: 'Zero Day', Saeed Malekan's directorial debut 

Best Film: ‘The Sun’, co-produced by Amir Banan and Majid Majidi

Best Documentary: ‘No Place for Angels’

Jury Special Prize: Saeed Malekan for 'Zero Day'

The 38th edition of the festival kicked off on February 1 in Tehran.

The Fajr Film Festival coincides with the Ten-Day Fajr (Dawn) ceremonies across Iran, marking the anniversary of the 1979 Islamic Revolution.

Since its establishment in 1982, the Fajr Film Festival has played a vital role in the development of Iranian Cinema.

Supervised by Iran’s Ministry of Culture, the festival hosts veteran directors and new filmmakers from Iran every year.

The international version of the festival will be held in April 2020.