Ifilm App Android
فارسی عربي

2021 Fajr Film Festival announces winners

The 39th Fajr Film Festival has announced the winners in each category.

The 39th Fajr Film Festival (FFF) has announced the winners in each category during the closing ceremony held on February 10.

The winners are as follows:  

  • Best Actress in a Leading Role: Roya Afshar for ‘Mother’
  • Best Actor in a Leading Role: Reza Attaran for ‘Roshan’ 
  • Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Gelareh Abbasi for ‘Piebald’
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Pouria Rahimi-Sam for ‘Zalava’  
  • Best Screenplay: Ida Panahandeh, Arsalan Amiri and Tahmineh Bahram for ‘Zalava’
  • Best Director: Mehdi Jafari for ‘Yadoo’
  • Best Editing: Emad Khodabakhsh for ‘Without Anything’
  • Best Cinematography: Morteza Najafi for ‘Roshan’ and ‘Yadoo’
  • Best Short Film: ‘Emergency’ by Maryam Esmi-Khani
  • Best Film in National Look section: ‘Sniper’ by Ali Ghaffari  
  • Best Film: ‘Yadoo’ by Mehdi Jafari  
  • Best Documentary: ‘Coup 53’ by Taqi Amirani
  • Jury Special Prize: Mohsen Qaraei for ‘Without Anything’
  • Audience Award for Best Film: ‘Piebald’ by Narges Abyar
  • Best Score Music: Hamed Sabet for ‘Without Everything’
  • Best Visual Effects: Farid Nazer-Fasihi for ‘Piebald’
  • Best Special Effects: Iman Karamian for ‘The Sniper’
  • Best Makeup Design: Iman Omidvari for ‘Piebald’
  • Best Custom Design: Maral Jeyrani for ‘Without Everything’ 
  • Best Scenic Design: Soheil Danesh for ‘Once Upon a Time, Abadan’ 
  • Best Sound Record: Rashid Daneshmand for ‘Yadoo’  

The 39th edition of the FFF kicked off on January 31 and wrapped up on February 10, 2021.

The Fajr Film Festival coincides with the Ten-Day Fajr (Dawn) ceremonies across Iran, marking the anniversary of the 1979 Islamic Revolution.

Since its establishment in 1982, the Fajr Film Festival has played a vital role in the development of Iranian Cinema.

Supervised by Iran’s Ministry of Culture, the festival hosts veteran directors and new filmmakers from Iran every year.